Embroidery Hoop Tutorial

This is my latest project and I have just finished attaching the finished hoops to the wall above our bed. I thought I’d write a tutorial as I made these without researching how to do it and managed to make more work for myself!

Our bedroom is a very calming room decorated in pale duck egg blues and pale painted wooden furniture. However, I wanted to inject a little bit more colour and interest and thought that creating some wall art would achieve this.

After making some extra money at Christmas through selling my crafts, I went and bought some gorgeous new fabric. I used some to make a rag garland for above our mirror and used the rest to decorate 11 embroidery hoops for the opposite wall.

These are the fabric samples that I bought- they are aqua, duck egg and turquoise hues with splashes of pink and cream.

image

wpid-IMG_20130104_110620.jpg

I bought my embroidery rings online as I found they were cheaper than in shops- they are a mix of sizes and different wood- some being bamboo. They all have a tightening clamp and 2 sections for trapping the fabric.

image

The Tutorial

  • Un-clamp the rings and separate the 2 sections.

image

  • I decided to paint the embroidery rings as I’m not keen on the wood and having them pale would look better in our room. I was torn between a pale bluey green and cream and opted for a colour called ‘Contemporary’ from Homebase. Its a quick drying wood paint and dried in about 30 minutes.
  • This is where I made more work for myself- I painted 2 coats on both sections of the hoop but you won’t ever see the inside section (the hoop without the clamp attached) so you don’t need to.

image

  • When the paint was dry, I laid the hoops out on our bed to decide which order to put them in and also which fabric to put in each one.

image

  • Put the inside hoop on the table and lay the fabric on top.
  • Then put the outer hoop (the one with the clamp) on top and clam the two together- stretching the fabric across the hoop.
  • This is the most important part- Make sure you pull the fabric taught and clamp it really well.

image

  • Trim the fabric around the edge of the hoop leaving about 1cm to tuck under.

image

  • Using fabric or craft glue, stick the 1cm trim to the underside of the hoop and leave to dry.

image

image

These are the finished and glued hoops.

image

image

  • I then embellished some of my hoops with bits that I’d collected- some paper and jewelled flower brads, an embroidery flower and some covered buttons.

image

image

image

Finally….my 11 embroidery hoops on the wall!

image

image

image

image

Thanks for reading & happy crafting!

2 thoughts on “Embroidery Hoop Tutorial

Leave a Reply

